About Us

A brief history

St Matthew’s, Page, a co-educational school catering for students from Kindergarten to Year Six, was opened in January 1972 with an initial enrolment of 360 children and 12 staff members. In response to a request from the then Archbishop of Canberra Goulburn, Archbishop Cahill, the Australian – New Zealand Federation of the Sisters of St Joseph took charge of the new school with the congregations of Goulburn, Perthville and Lochinvar supplying Sisters. Sister Leo Ryan became the Foundation Principal.

The last Principal appointed by the Federation was Sister Anne Moylan (known then as Sister Peter Julian), who left St Matthew’s at the end of 1987. In 1988 Mrs Evelyn Rollings was appointed as the first lay Principal and by 1989 the school was entirely staffed by lay teachers.

The whole community is greatly indebted to the Sisters of St Joseph, who worked so tirelessly to establish and nurture the growth of Catholic Education at St Matthew’s. A plaque commemorating their role in the establishment of the school has been placed in the foyer.

By 1977 the enrolment reached its peak of 919 students. To meet the burgeoning demands for places, two new schools were built in the surrounding suburbs. Currently, in spacious, comfortable and well equipped surroundings, the enrolment is approximately 350 students.